RAT Rock News

Shinedown is officially back with a new single and details about their new seventh studio album, the follow-up to 2018’s Attention Attention.

Embedded below is “Planet Zero,” the title track from their new LP which was produced by Shinedown bassist Eric Bass and is available for streaming and download here. The track offers a first look at the unique concept album that centers around a robot character named Cyren.

In a statement from Bass, “Cyren’s the robot welcoming you to Planet Zero, which could potentially be the future we all live in: a place with zero sense, zero accountability, zero tolerance for any opinion different from what you hear on Twitter or TV.”

A press release on the album notes, “‘Planet Zero’ offers an incisive look at a strange and terrifying moment in history and its implications for the future of humankind, building a dystopian framework around its exploration of the issues at hand: the corrosive effects of social media, cancel culture and its many hypocrisies, the increasingly toxic divisions among those of differing ideologies. The result is an ultra-vivid and utterly absorbing futuristic saga in the form of 13 viscerally charged rock songs, spliced with interludes featuring an insidious character called Cyren.”

Singer Brent Smith says of Planet Zero, “The fact is that we’re all here on this planet no matter what, so it’s time to actually come together. We want people to stop looking at each other as demographics or talking points and start seeing each other as people. I’ve had so many quality conversations with people I vastly disagree with, and I’ve come away with a wealth of understanding that I’d never have gained if I’d just written them off.”

Planet Zero comes out on April 22 and is available for pre-save on streaming platforms here, while exclusive formats and merch bundles are available for pre-order at Store.Shinedown.com. A full tracklisting is below.

Shinedown – Planet Zero – Tracklisting

1. 2184
2. No Sleep Tonight
3. Planet Zero
4. Welcome
5. Dysfunctional You
6. Dead Don’t Die
7. Standardized Experiences
8. America Burning
9. Do Not Panic
10. A Symptom Of Being Human
11. Hope
12. A More Utopian Future
13. Clueless And Dramatic
14. Sure Is Fun
15. Daylight
16. This Is A Warning
17. The Saints Of Violence And Innuendo
18. Army Of The Underappreciated
19. Delete
20. What You Wanted


Shinedown: 16 Tracks That Hit No. 1 on Billboard’s Mainstream Rock Songs Chart

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights