RAT Rock News

RAT Rock News

RAT Rock News

When it comes to albums that turn 15 in 2024, you’ll find some interesting debuts and long-awaited returns.

In 2009, the world was introduced to Halestorm. Fronted by Lzzy Hale, the band’s self-titled debut was released in April and features “I Get Off” and “It’s Not You.” Since then, the band has been a mainstay on active rock radio. Even though the band’s debut came out in 2009, they had been together for much longer. Hale and her drummer brother, Arejay, formed Halestorm when they were just kids. In fact, the first official Halestorm performance took place in August 1997.

The year also saw the debut album from Florence & The Machine. Lungs was released in July and features “Dog Days Are Over,” “Kiss with a Fist” and their cover of “You’ve Got the Love.” In the years since, singer Florence Welch remains one of the most unique vocalists in music.

The supergroup Them Crooked Vultures unleashed themselves onto the rock world in 2009. The band released their self-titled debut in November. Them Crooked Vultures features Queen of the Stone Age’s Josh Homme, Foo Fighters’ Dave Grohl and John Paul Jones. You might remember Jones from a little band called Led Zeppelin.

In 2009, Alice in Chains made their return to the rock world with Black Gives Way to Blue. It’s the band’s fourth studio album and their first LP with singer William DuVall. The album arrived about 14 years after the release of their last album, 1995’s Alice in Chains. It’s also the first since the death of original singer Layne Staley, who died in April 2002 at age 34.

Elsewhere in 2009, there were new albums from Green Day, U2, Bruce Springsteen and Pearl Jam. Keep scrolling to learn more about the notable albums that turn 15 in 2024!

  • Green Day - ‘21st Century Breakdown’

    Green Day released their eighth studio album, 21st Century Breakdown, on May 15, 2009. The album features “Know Your Enemy,” “21 Guns” and “Last of the American Girls.”

  • Yeah Yeah Yeahs - ‘It’s Blitz!

    Yeah Yeah Yeahs released their third studio album, It’s Blitz!, on March 6, 2009. The acclaimed album features “Zero,” “Skeletons” and “Head Will Roll.”

  • Franz Ferdinand - ‘Tonight: Franz Ferdinand’’

    Tonight: Franz Ferdinand is Franz Ferdinand’s third studio album. It features “Can’t Stop Feeling,” “What She Came For,” “Ulysses” and “No You Girls.”

  • Muse - ‘The Resistance’

    Muse released their fifth studio album, The Resistance, on September 11, 2009. In addition to “Resistance,” it also features the single “Exogenesis: Symphony,” “Undisclosed Desires” and “Uprising.”

  • Florence & The Machine - ‘Lungs’

    Lungs, the debut album from Florence & The Machine came out on July 3, 2009. The album features a number of great songs including “Dog Days Are Over,” “Kiss with a Fist” and a stunning cover of “You’ve Got the Love.”

  • Alice In Chains - ‘Black Gives Way to Blue’

    Alice In Chains’ Black Gives Way to Blue on September 29, 2009. It was the band’s first album with singer/guitarist William DuVall, who replaced the late Layne Staley. The album features the singles “Check My Brain” and “Lesson Learned.”

  • Them Crooked Vultures - ‘Them Crooked Vultures’

    Them Crooked Vultures is a supergroup featuring Josh Homme, John Paul Jones and Dave Grohl. They only released one album: A self-titled LP, which came out on November 16, 2009.

  • U2 - ‘No Line on the Horizon’

    U2 released No Line on the Horizon, their twelfth studio album, on February 27, 2009. While the album wasn’t a similar commercial success like their previous albums, the LP still features solid tunes like the title track, “Magnificent” and “Moment of Surrender.”

  • Bruce Springsteen - ‘Working on a Dream’

    Bruce Springsteen released Working on a Dream, his sixteenth studio album on January 27, 2009. The album features “My Lucky Day,” “Outlaw Pete,” “The Wrestler” (as a bonus track) and the title track.

  • Halestorm - ‘Halestorm’

    Halestorm’s self-titled debut album was released on April 28, 2009. The album features “I Get Off” and “It’s Not You.”

  • Pearl Jam - ‘Backspacer’

    Backspacer, Pearl Jam’s ninth studio album, was released on September 20, 2009. It was the band’s first No. 1 album in the United States since 1996’s No Code. The album features “The Fixer” and “Amogth the Waves.”

  • Five Finger Death Punch - ‘War Is the Answer’

    Five Finger Death Punch released War Is The Answer on September 22, 2009. It was their second studio album, and it featured “Walk Away” and their cover of “Bad Company.”

Sign me up for the WRAT email newsletter!

Join ClubRAT for access to all the perks delivered right to your inbox from Jersey's Concert Connection! Get exclusive presale codes for upcoming shows, the latest updates with your favorite rockers, contest info, and more.

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.