New Jersey has officially increased the statewide minimum wage to $13 per hour as of today (January 1, 2022).
The new increase is part of a legislation which Governor Phil Murphy had signed in February of 2019. This will allow the rate of minimum wage in the state of New Jersey to increase to $15 per hour by 2024 for most employees.
“The challenges of the pandemic have shown why it’s so important that the Garden State remain on course to a $15 minimum wage,” said Labor Commissioner Robert Asaro-Angelo in a press release. “In support of Governor Murphy’s vision for a stronger and fairer economy, we’re working to get our residents into not just jobs, but good jobs with sustainable wages and the generous benefits that come with working in our state.”
The press release states:
The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development (NJDOL) sets the minimum wage for the coming year using either the rate specified in the law or a calculation based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI), whichever is higher. Once the minimum wage reaches $15 per hour, the state Constitution specifies that it continue to increase annually based on any increase in the Consumer Price Index.
Click here to learn more on the state minimum wage.
our minimum wage goes UP to $13/hour TOMORROW – on our path to $15/hour⁰💲$14/hour in 2023⁰💲$15/hour in 2024⁰pic.twitter.com/eGA8SiDArM— New Jersey (@NJGov) December 31, 2021