RAT Rock News

Royal Blood has announced new details on their third studio album and release a new single.

Due out April 30, Typhoons finds bassist/singer Mike Kerr and drummer Ben Thatcher embracing more pop/dance beats as evident by the release of the title track (embedded below) and the album's first single “Trouble’s Coming,” which was released back in September.

In a statement, Kerr said of the album, “We sort of stumbled on this sound, and it was immediately fun to play. That’s what sparked the creativity on the new album, the chasing of that feeling. It’s weird, though – if you think back to ‘Figure it Out’, it kind of contains the embryo of this album. We realized that we didn’t have to completely destroy what we’d created so far; we just had to shift it, change it. On paper, it’s a small reinvention. But when you hear it, it sounds so fresh.”

The album also finds the U.K. duo taking on a more substantial producing role but also finds them working with Queens of the Stone Age’s Josh Homme on the track “Boilermaker” and Grammy Award-winning producer Paul Epworth on “Who Needs Friends.”

Typhoons is available for pre-order on vinyl, CD, cassette and digital formats at RoyalBloodBand.com. A complete track listing for the album is below.

Royal Blood – Typhoons – Track Listing

1. Trouble’s Coming
2. Oblivion
3. Typhoons
4. Who Needs Friends
5. Million & One
6. Limbo
7. Either You Want It
8. Boilermaker
9. Mad Visions
10. Hold On
11. All We Have Is Now

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice.