RAT Rock News

After releasing the title track from the album this morning, Ozzy Osbourne has officially announced the release date for his new studio album Ordinary Man.

Due out February 21, Ordinary Man is Osbourne’s first new studio album in ten years. The album features a number of big-name collaborators with producer/guitarist Andrew Watt, Guns N’ Roses bassist Duff McKagan and Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith serving as Osbourne’s main backing band. Elton John, Slash, Tom Morello and Post Malone guest on various tracks of the LP.

In a statement on the album, Osbourne said, “It was a lot of fun to do though it’s a lot different from my other albums. We recorded it quickly, which I haven’t done since the first Black Sabbath album. This made it a different process, which I actually enjoyed…It all just came together. Slash is a dear friend of mine, as is Elton. When I was writing ‘Ordinary Man,’ it reminded me of an old Elton song and I said to Sharon, ‘I wonder if he would sing on it?’ We asked and lo and behold, he agreed and sings and play piano on the song.”

Ordinary Man is available for pre-order/pre-save in various formats and platforms here. Physical copies of the album will contain a special code that buyers can use to enter a sweepstakes to win one of 300 Ozzy-related prizes. Those prizes range from gift certificates to Ozzy’s official online store to a laminate that will grant you admission to any 2020 show on the “No More Tours 2” tour. Complete sweepstake details can be found at Ozzy.com.


17 Albums That Turn 25 in 2020

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights